beauty blog · October Favorites

October Favorites

hellonovember

you know what this means…its officially the holiday season!  starbucks is bringing out their red cups and the hallmark channel started broadcasting their Christmas movies.  its hard to believe that there is only two months left in this year!

as much as i love October, i am so excited about the next couple of months!  my hubs and i have a great vacation planned and i bought a ton of great new items that i hope will become November favorites!

here is what i got from sephora and ulta recently

octhaul

the shade & light eye palette by kat von d and the hi-shine lip lacquer by marc jacobs are amazing and im sure will make it into my november favorites post!

vibrouge

and……i became VIB Rouge at Sephora!!!!  i am really excited about this.. i guess i shouldn’t be since it means that i have spent a shit-ton of money there this year.  whatever, it made me feel important 🙂

my stylist ordered this marula oil set for me the last time i got my hair done.

marulaoil

it comes with a shampoo, a conditioner, a rare oil treatment and a rare oil intensive masque.  as you can see, the bag is also quite amazing!  i love just about anything with marula oil so i am quite anxious to give this a try.  let me know if you have tried this and if so, did you like it?

here is a little peek of what my stylist did to my hair yesterday

newhair

the color turned out great!  i had some light blond highlights in the front and they took on a purplish hue.  it was time for a change and i love it!

and…i just have to sneak this beauty in that i bought this weekend 🙂

louiswallet

 Louis Vuitton Emilie Wallet

i couldn’t help myself.  my LV bag needed a friend 😉

ok, now on to my october fav’s:

toofaced

Too Faced Primed & Poreless Pressed Powder and Urban Decay All Nighter Makeup Setting Spray

i have been searching for a powder to set my t-zone and under my eyes.  this powder is perfect!  my under eye area doesn’t get cakey with this product and it blurs my huge pores around my nose. a win-win in my book!  if you don’t set your makeup with a makeup setting spray, then you should try this one!  i have tried other brands but this is the one i keep coming back to.  a few sprays after you apply your makeup and it will stay looking great for hours.  up to 16 hours to be exact!

loracprolorac

Lorac Mega Pro Palette 2

i seriously didn’t need another eye palette, but im so glad i picked this one up!  it contains 16 matte shades and 16 shimmer shades.  all of the colors are beautiful and blend very well.

soar

MAC Lip Pencil in Soar

this is a mid-tone pinkish brown color.  it is a great neutral color that i find goes with a lot of lip colors I’m wearing right now. this color sells out a lot so if you see it, pick it up.

loreal

L’Oreal Colour Riche La Lacque Lipcolour Stick in Lacque-y You

i have been raving about this lipstick for a while now.  you can read about the first color i fell in love with here.  the new color i picked up is a pinky-red color and looks great paired with the MAC lipliner in Soar that i mentioned above. it is very pigmented and goes on smooth.  eventually all the of the colors in this line will be mine 🙂

smartwoolmidcrewsmartwoolmicro

i know this last item is not beauty related, but i wanted to mention them as they have been a favorite of mine for some time.

they are Smartwool socks.  my husband and i bought these about three years ago when we went hiking in Colorado.  they are made in America from the finest merino from around the world. you can read about them here.  they are the only socks i wear and i wear them year round.  i only discovered the micro version last month, so that’s the reason they made this post.

the pic on the left is the women’s hike medium crew socks and the pic on the right is the women’s PhD outdoor lite micro socks.  you may think that $17-$20 is too much to spend on a pair of socks, but believe me they are worth it!  i still have the three pair that we bought for our Colorado trip and they still look new….and i have worn the heck out of them!

i want to mention a couple of items that were flops in october.

queensizednyxglamofail

first is the Too Faced Size Queen Mascara.  i thought this was going to be such a great mascara.  just look at the humongous brush!  no. nope. negative.  all that mascara gave me was black eyes.  the brush is way too big.  i returned it.  the Hard Candy Glamoflauge heavy duty concealer that I mentioned in a blog post here didn’t make the cut.  it was super runny and sticky.  not a great combo for a concealer.  and finally NYX Butter Gloss and NYX Soft Matte Lip Creme.  I really wanted to like these.  I have watched so many vloggers on YouTube rave about them and they are really cheap.  I found that the formula is so thin that it bleeds into the lines around my lips.  and yes, I do use a lip liner.  that didn’t help.  I’m not sure if I will give them another go or if ill just toss them out.

what were some of your favorites in October?  let me know!

xoxo, ang

follow me on Instagram: @angbruening

3 thoughts on “October Favorites

Leave a comment